Indigenous Book & Authors Festival 2014

Authenticity  &  Indigeneity

February 20-21, 2014

The University of New Mexico Student Union Building

Albuquerque, New Mexico


Thursday, February 20: FESTIVAL DAY ONE

8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.  BREAKFAST—SUB Ballroom C

9:00 a.m. - 9:45 a.m. Invocation, Welcome, and Introductions—SUB Ballroom C

10 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. KEYNOTE: Audra Simpson “The Sovereignty of Critique”—SUB Ballroom C
                   (Introduction  by  Jennifer  Denetdale)

11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. AUTHENTICITY & INDIGENEITY Panel—SUB Ballroom C (Moderator:  Sherri Thomas)
                   Joanne Barker
                   Malinda Maynor Lowery

12:15 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. Lunch—SUB Ballroom C

1:15 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. Book Signing, Meet the Authors (Outside of Ballroom C)

2:00 p.m. - 3:15 p.m. Dialogue presentations

Author I (SUB Acoma A & B) Technology &  Media
                   Patricia Marroquin Norby, Cristina Azocar, John P.  Sanchez
                   (Moderator:  Sherri Thomas)

Author II (SUB Santa Ana A & B) IPCC 100  Year  Curriculum  Project
                   Christine Sims, Glenabah Martinez, Kirby Gchachu
                   (Moderator:  Geneva Becenti)

Author III (SUB Lobo A & B) Trafficking  in  Culture
                   Amy  Lonetree, Mishuana Goeman
                   (Moderator: Nick  Estes)

Author IV (SUB Fiesta A & B) Diné  Perspectives:  Reclaiming   &  Revitalizing  Navajo  Thought
Tiffany S.  Lee ,  Melanie K.  Yazzie ,  Lloyd L. Lee (Moderator as  well)

3:30 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. Featured Author Readings—SUB Ballroom C (Introductions  by  Luci  Tapahonso)
                   Maurice Kenny
                   Carter Revard

4:45 p.m. - 5:15 p.m. Book Signing, Meet the Authors—Outside of Ballroom C

Friday, February 21:  FESTIVAL DAY TWO

8:30 a.m. - 9:45 a.m. Continental BREAKFAST—SUB Ballroom C

10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. FEATURE PRESENTATION: David Treuer “Authenticity and the Written Word”—SUB Ballroom C
                   (Introduction  by Beverly  Singer)

11:15 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Dialogue Presentations 

Author V (SUB Acoma A & B) Indigenous History
                   Steven Crum, Jennifer Denetdale
                   (Moderator: Patricia M.N.)

Author VI (SUB Santa Ana A & B) Indigenous Space in Literature
                   Jill Doerfler, Lisa Tatonetti
                   (Moderator: James T. Stevens)

Author VII (SUB Lobo A & B) Reframing Accountability in Indigenous Studies
                   Elizabeth Cook-Lynn, Deborah A. Miranda
                   (Moderator: Melanie K. Yazzie)

Author VIII (SUB Fiesta A & B) Crossing of Nation
Margaret Noodin, James H. Cox
                   (Moderator: Kathleen Washburn)                 

(SUB Mir./Thd.) CW Workshop
Monty Little, Sasha LaPointe

12:45 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. LUNCH KEYNOTE: Craig Santos Perez “Beware of Falling Coconuts”—SUB Ballroom C
                   (Introduction  by  Kathleen  Washburn)

1:45 p.m. – 2:15 p.m. Book Signing, Meet the Authors—Outside of Ballroom C

2:30 p.m. - 3:45 p.m. Dialogue Presentations

Authors lX (SUB Acoma A & B) Culture of Language
Henry Real Bird, Emmet Garcia, Evangeline Parsons-Yazzie
                   (Moderator: Beverly Singer)

Authors X (SUB Santa Ana A & B) The Writing Life
Luci Tapahonso, Tanaya Winder
                   (Moderator: Evelina Zuni Lucero)

Author XI (SUB Lobo A & B) Sovereignty, UNDRIP, & Concepts of Healing
                   Dian Million, Waziyatawin
                   (Moderator: Sherri Thomas)

Authors XII (SUB Fiesta A & B) Looking Backward/Forward
Stephen Graham Jones, Casandra Lopez
                   (Moderator: Amy Gore)

4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.Benediction/Closing Program/Book  Signing &  Meet  the  Authors/Reception  @  Faculty  &  Staff  Club                    (Introductions  by  Mary  Alice  Tsosie)